Astronaut Sergey Ryazansky captured from ISS Raiatea and Tahaa Islands of French Polynesia, Leeward Islands in the south Pacific Ocean.

Credit: Sergey Ryazansky, Roscosmos

The Leeward Islands are the western part of the Society Islands in French Polynesia, an overseas collectivity of France in the South Pacific. The first European to encounter the archipelago was James Cook in 1769 during the British expedition to observe the transit of Venus. Cook records in his journal that he named the islands Society as they are in close proximity to each other. Raiatea, is the second largest of the Society Islands, after Tahiti, in French Polynesia, and is widely regarded as the ‘centre’ of the eastern islands in ancient Polynesia. Tahaa is an island located among the western group, the Leeward Islands, of the Society Islands in French Polynesia, an overseas territory of France in the Pacific Ocean. The islands of Taha’a and neighboring Raiatea to the immediate south are enclosed by the same coral reef, and they may once have been a single island.

The local scenery on the ground is as follows.

Credit: P.Bacchet, welcomeTahiti

Reference: Sergey Ryazansky’s Tweet
See earthview photo gallery: LiVEARTH